Below is a list of announced Democratic candidates for public office in Dallas County and Iowa:

Governorship: Announced and declared candidates so far:

Todd Prichard – Current Iowa House of Representatives from Charles City, Iowa.

Dr. Andy McGuire – Former Chair of the Iowa Democratic Party

Jon Neiderbach – Former Des Moines School Board Member and candidate for the 2014 State Auditor.

Nate Boulton – Current State Senator from Des Moines serving his first term in office

John Norris – former chief of staff for Governor Vilsack, former candidate for IA-02


Third Congressional District:

Anna Ryon – Works in the Office of Consumer Advocate, former educator and life long Iowan

Pete D’Alessandro – Democratic political operative who ran Bernie Sander’s 2016 Iowa campaign, exploring possible run for congress

Paul Knupp – Psychiatric rehabilitation practitioner at Broadlawns Medical Center in Des Moines

Cindy Axne – Small business owner, mother, wife and activist

Heather Ryan – South Side Des Moines Democratic Chair and activist

Theresa Greenfield – small business owner, exploring possible run for congress